Musical heritage of Serbia and countries of Balkan Peninsula

About us

Balkan Quartet

The musicians of the Balkan Quartet – violinists Sinisa Ciric and Mirna Ogrizovic, violist Danijela Zezelj-Gualdi and cellist Martin Gueorguiev were drawn together by their mutual background and upbringing in the Balkan countries of Serbia and Bulgaria.
This album offers an eclectic mixture of musical traditions from many distant parts of the world – from Armenian to Eastern European, Gypsy to Greek, from the rhythm of the Tango to a nod to the genius of Tchaikovsky. Some of the pieces are arrangements of folk songs that have been sung for centuries, while others are new compositions reflecting the composers’ views of our ever-changing cultural environment.

Audio CD 2013

Balkan Quartet

Photos – Cedric Smith Photography, CD was recorded January 25-27, 2013 at Francis Marion University, Florence, SC. Recording engineer, sound mixing – Brandon Goff


1. Echmiadzin Dance – composed by Komitas, arranged by S. Aslamazyan
2. The Red Shawl – same as above
3. Clouds – same as above
4. Festive Song – same as above
5. The Crane – same as above
6. Zikino Kolo – traditional, arranged by Milos Simic
7. Souvenir from Marinko’s Pond – composed by Aleksandar Gajic
8. Gypsy Song – arranged by Marko D. Aleksic
9. Hotland – composed by Aleksandar Gajic
10. Folk Suite – traditional, arranged by Sinisa Ciric/Konstantin Blagojevic
11. Sevdah Tango – composed by Milos Simic
12. Just for Wonder – composed by Aleksandar Gajic

Zikino Kolo

by Balkan Quartet | Concert version